notjustacupcake

Just another WordPress.com site

20th Birthday.

Leave a comment

I made these for my dear friend and fellow water polo player Kathryn Larrowe who is turning 20 years old tomorrow.  I made these cupcakes to go with the left over maple cream cheese frosting from last time. Thinking along the lines of maple and brown sugar oatmeal. I sprinkled brown sugar on top of the frosting. I liked the hearty-ness oatmeal gives baked items. While making these I was “supposed” to be doing homework, but a birthday always seems to take priority over homework…

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cupcakes

[adapted from my sweet potato pie cupcakes]

makes 12 cupcakes

 

1 large egg

3/4 cup loosely packed brown sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick), melted and cooled

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons milk

1/2 cup chocolate chips, tossed in a sprinkle of flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cupcake tin with liners.

In a large bowl, whisk egg and sugar together until combined and no lumps remain. Add in vanilla extract and butter, whisking until smooth. Add in flour, oats, baking soda, salt and cinnamon then add in milk and stir until combined and smooth. Fold in chocolate chips. Drop about 1/4-1/3 cup of batter into each liner. Bake for 15-17 minutes, or until cupcakes are set and spring back at the touch. Let cool completely before frosting.

http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/01/chocolate-chip-oatmeal-cupcakes-with-cinnamon-sugared-chip-frosting/

Author: notjustacupcake

My name is Anna, I also go by Anna Rose. This my site for my baking/future business. I will upload pictures and ideas.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.